Not so much like the law

October 17, 2010 § 3 Comments

So, I’ve been watching The West Wing, and the saying keeps coming up: “Those who love sausage and the law should not see them made.”*

I don’t know about laws, but this sausage thing is crap. I love sausage, and I love to see it made and to make it (as long as it’s made with quality ingredients). It’s a fascinating process, and generally people are grossed out by it primarily because of the disconnect that industrial farming has inserted between us and our food. (OK, yeah, and the fact that factory-made sausage often has some very questionable ingredients.)

*Which, no, was not said by Otto von Bismarck originally.

§ 3 Responses to Not so much like the law

  • renniejoy says:

    I’ve always thought that it would awesome to see how laws are made (but not on C-Span); not so much sausage.

    But then I’m weird. 🙂

  • Zuska says:

    Mr. Z’s family makes kielbasa and it’s awesome. My pappap used to grind up all sorts of stuff in a fabulous hand turned meat grinder. I thought it was pure entertainment to watch him. I have never seen an episode of the West Wing, though.

    • Ginny W says:

      Mmmm, homemade kielbasa.

      WW has its good and bad points. I admit to watching it in large part for the character of CJ Cregg, because I have a crush on Alison Janney.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Not so much like the law at A Kitchen of One's Own.

meta

