Couple of Quick Things

September 21, 2010 § Leave a comment

Those points I made about it being more difficult for married women and women with kids? Echidne of the Snakes brings up a study on pay rates that I think relates.

Also, it seems I am spreading my bizarro kitchen work ethics to my front of house people, or at least my office people. I get occasional migraines, and if I’m already at work when I get them, or there’s something only I can take care of to do on a day when I have one, I often work anyway, albeit in the dark. My assistant-manager-in-charge-of-receiving-and-filing messaged me the other evening saying she had a migraine and so might be in late the next day, but was apparently planning to come in even if the migraine continued. I checked to make sure we weren’t expecting any deliveries (because if we were, I’d have to be there on my day off to receive them myself), and then told her to just stay home and recover. I feel weird about this. I do sometimes have to work with a migraine, but having had chefs who made me come in to work for them, I don’t want to do that to anyone else, and I don’t like that my example makes my staff think I want them to work with migraines.

Also, welcome to any Zuskateers who wandered over after Zuska so kindly linked to me.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Couple of Quick Things at A Kitchen of One's Own.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

